Welcome to the forums. Please post in English or French.

You are not logged in.

#1 2022-07-26 20:51:26

ruggekutta76
Member
Registered: 2022-05-18
Posts: 8

Salome meca installation

Hi everybody,
as I start Salome meca from terminal on Ubuntu 20.04 LTS, the following message appears:
"not exist: /etc/krb5.conf
WARNING: Could not find any nv files on this host!"
and Salome meca runs without using of GPU.
Has someone already solved this problem?
Kind regards
Andrea

Offline

#2 2022-08-04 21:15:17

Irvise
Member
Registered: 2019-12-07
Posts: 108

Re: Salome meca installation

Hi Andrea,

the container can only run in GPU mode if you system has an Nvidia GPU... This is a known limitation and it is a bit sad... But that is its current state. If you have an Nvidia GPU in you system, make sure that the drivers are installed and are being used.

Regards,
Fernando Oleo Blanco

Offline

#3 2022-08-05 13:16:28

ruggekutta76
Member
Registered: 2022-05-18
Posts: 8

Re: Salome meca installation

Hi Fernando, an nvidia driver is currently in use as u can see in the attached file.
Kind Regards
Andrea


Attachments:
grafica per salome.odt, Size: 223.53 KiB, Downloads: 20

Offline

#4 2022-08-05 15:05:55

ruggekutta76
Member
Registered: 2022-05-18
Posts: 8

Re: Salome meca installation

Now it's all right, Salome runs in GPU mode.
But Salome crashes when post processing with the following messages:
"Loguru caught a signal: SIGABRT"
kind regards
Andrea

Offline

#5 2022-08-05 17:16:09

Irvise
Member
Registered: 2019-12-07
Posts: 108

Re: Salome meca installation

Hi Andrea,

I am glad that it runs now. Sadly I have never heard of such error before, however, I did have issues when post processing...

There is a newer version of the container that is available in the code-aster server but it has not been officially put for a download... Maybe it is more stable and it fixes your problem. The link is code-aster.org/FICHIERS/singularity/salome_meca-lgpl-2021.1.0-1-20220405-scibian-9.sif
I would give it a try and see if it is better.

Best regards,
Fer

Offline

#6 2022-08-08 22:21:37

ruggekutta76
Member
Registered: 2022-05-18
Posts: 8

Re: Salome meca installation

Hi Fernando,
the download from the link you sent to me stops after 1,5 GB. Do you know any other link?
kind regards
Andrea

Offline

#7 2022-08-09 16:59:36

Irvise
Member
Registered: 2019-12-07
Posts: 108

Re: Salome meca installation

Hi Andrea,

yes, the connection is known to be bad. If you have access to the wget command (very common in Linux/UNIX systems), try using "wget -c URL". It will try to restart the download if it dies. Hopefully that helps.

Regards,
Fer

Offline

#8 2022-08-19 16:03:35

ruggekutta76
Member
Registered: 2022-05-18
Posts: 8

Re: Salome meca installation

Hi Fernando,
I tried with the link you sent to me, but the problem persists.
However I solved the problem opening twice salome meca and opening the .med file with paravis (that doesn't work if my file i.hdf is opened while asterstudy module is activated).
Now I have 2 questions:
1) I'd like to check installation with cronos server but i receive the following message: "Could not resolve hostname cronos.hpc.edf.fr: No address associated with hostname". Do you know the problem? Actually I use code aster with local host.
2) Which is the raccomendend value for the parameter resi_glob_rela in Stat_non_line? I have obtained some acceptable results with a test on a masonry tower using Mazar model adopting a value of 0.01, but increasing it to 0.001 code aster returns the following message: "<ConvergenceError> <MECANONLINE9_8>                                                                                                                                                   
║ Arrêt par échec dans le pilotage.     ║    La base globale est sauvegardée. Elle contient les pas archivés avant l'arrêt. "

Kind regards
Andrea Ruggieri

Offline

#9 2022-08-20 09:34:42

Irvise
Member
Registered: 2019-12-07
Posts: 108

Re: Salome meca installation

Hi Andrea,

I am glad that you found a solution, though it seems something is indeed broken...

Regarding your first question. Is that an error or a warning? I suppose that you can ignore it, Salome does run by default in localhost mode. However, I do not understand what you mean by "cronos server".

About the second question. I think that a new thread would be better for that smile I am not very familiar with Mazaras either, so I cannot help you there, but other people may.

Regards,
Fer

Offline