Welcome to the forums. Please post in English or French.

You are not logged in.

#1 2021-06-11 15:08:11

kadred
Member
Registered: 2020-02-13
Posts: 9

can i use xfem without define initial crack ?

Hello,

Is it possible to use XFEM without defining initial crack ?

In my model i dont have an initial crack, i would like to use xfem to predicts the crack initiation sites considering the applied boundary conditions. Is it possible ?

Thank you in advance for any help.

Offline

#2 2021-06-12 04:21:13

GXA_William
Member
Registered: 2016-04-30
Posts: 52

Re: can i use xfem without define initial crack ?

Greetings Kadred.

The simple answer is yes.  In fact, XFEM allows one to use a "sane" mesh, without directly modeling the crack.

-William

Offline

#3 2021-06-14 15:36:02

kadred
Member
Registered: 2020-02-13
Posts: 9

Re: can i use xfem without define initial crack ?

thanks for your answer.
If it possible, so what do i have to do in the step "DEFI_FISS":

"FISS=DEFI_FISS_XFEM(MAILLAGE=MAILLA,
                                          TYPE_DISCONTINUITE = / 'FISSURE', [DEFAULT]
                                                                                    / 'INTERFACE'
                                          DEFI_FISS=_F()
                                          )
"

Offline

#4 2021-06-15 05:42:21

GXA_William
Member
Registered: 2016-04-30
Posts: 52

Re: can i use xfem without define initial crack ?

Hello Kadred.

One suggestion is to look at test case SSLV315.

-William

Offline

#5 2021-06-17 15:52:19

kadred
Member
Registered: 2020-02-13
Posts: 9

Re: can i use xfem without define initial crack ?

I took your advice and took a look at the SSLV315 document. but as I am a beginner on salome meca and that in SSLV315 there are not the steps to build the model I switched to the document forma01 where in the modelization D it is question of XFEM.
However, I have an error that I don't understand:

!----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------!
   ! <EXCEPTION> <CALCULEL_54>                                                                                      !
   !                                                                                                                !
   !  Le paramètre:  PSTANO  de l'option:  INI_XFEM_ELNO  n'est pas connu des TYPE_ELEM du LIGREL:  modlxfem.MODELE !
   !  Champ : modlxfem.STNO                                                                                         !
   !----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------!

Can you help me ?

the model is attached .


Attachments:
Mesh_FORMA01D.med, Size: 37.5 KiB, Downloads: 62

Offline

#6 2021-06-18 05:09:22

GXA_William
Member
Registered: 2016-04-30
Posts: 52

Re: can i use xfem without define initial crack ?

Hello kadred.

I am not sure about your question...are you trying to apply XFEM to a beam model?

-William

Offline

#7 2021-06-18 13:38:43

kadred
Member
Registered: 2020-02-13
Posts: 9

Re: can i use xfem without define initial crack ?

no I worked on the modelization described in the document: V3.02.326. it is not a beam model.
The .hdf file is attached.

Thanks


Attachments:
FORMA01D.hdf, Size: 1.54 MiB, Downloads: 101

Offline