Welcome to the forums. Please post in English or French.

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-09-15 20:07:46

chenghui62000
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2018-06-19
Posts: 108

[solved]Run same case on two computers, but one raises EXIT_CODE = 139

Hi experts,

I have a problem with my simulation (The simulation is a little complex). First, I set up the simulation case on my laptop computer. The case passed a test simulation on my laptop computer, but when I move the simulation to my desktop computer, the case is crashed.


The software environment on my laptop is Code_Aster14.4 in Windows Subsystem Linux (WSL). CPU: i7-8750H; Memory: 16GB
The desktop computer is Linux Mint 19.3, CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2620 v4;  Memory: 32GB

I attached the mess files for the simulations on the two computers, I really wish some can help me with that.

Best regards,
Hui Cheng

Last edited by chenghui62000 (2020-10-14 00:05:31)


Attachments:
mess_laptop.log, Size: 1.71 MiB, Downloads: 25

Offline

#2 2020-09-15 20:08:54

chenghui62000
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2018-06-19
Posts: 108

Re: [solved]Run same case on two computers, but one raises EXIT_CODE = 139

Here is the mess file from my desktop computer.

Following information is not recorded in the mess file:

#3      Dechargement de la memoire sur disque             CPU (USER+SYST/SYST/ELAPS):      0.04      0.03      0.04
#3      Dechargement de la memoire sur disque             CPU (USER+SYST/SYST/ELAPS):      0.01      0.01      0.01
#3      Dechargement de la memoire sur disque             CPU (USER+SYST/SYST/ELAPS):      0.02      0.01      0.02
#3      Dechargement de la memoire sur disque             CPU (USER+SYST/SYST/ELAPS):      0.00      0.00      0.00
#3      Dechargement de la memoire sur disque             CPU (USER+SYST/SYST/ELAPS):      0.04      0.02      0.03
#3      Dechargement de la memoire sur disque             CPU (USER+SYST/SYST/ELAPS):      0.01      0.01      0.01
Segmentation fault (core dumped)
EXECUTION_CODE_ASTER_EXIT_2659=139
<INFO> Code_Aster run ended, diagnostic : <F>_ABNORMAL_ABORT

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 Content of /tmp/hui-UiS-interactif_197966 after execution

.:
total 165504
drwx------  3 hui  hui       4096 Sep 15 21:25 .
drwxrwxrwt 34 root root     12288 Sep 15 21:25 ..
-rw-rw-r--  1 hui  hui       1420 Sep 15 21:25 2659.export
-rw-rw-r--  1 hui  hui       2881 Sep 15 21:25 config.txt
-rw-rw-r--  1 hui  hui      11262 Sep 15 21:25 fort.1
-rw-rw-r--  1 hui  hui      11262 Sep 15 21:25 fort.1.1
-rw-rw-r--  1 hui  hui          0 Sep 15 21:25 fort.15
-rw-rw-r--  1 hui  hui    1324454 Sep 15 21:25 fort.20
-rw-rw-r--  1 hui  hui     141269 Sep 15 21:25 fort.6
-rw-rw-r--  1 hui  hui          0 Sep 15 21:25 fort.8
-rw-rw-r--  1 hui  hui          0 Sep 15 21:25 fort.9
-rw-rw-r--  1 hui  hui       7073 Sep 15 21:25 fort.91
-rw-rw-r--  1 hui  hui  140902408 Sep 15 21:25 glob.1
drwxr-xr-x  2 hui  hui       4096 Sep 15 21:25 REPE_OUT
-rw-rw-r--  1 hui  hui   27033608 Sep 15 21:25 vola.1

REPE_OUT:
total 8
drwxr-xr-x 2 hui hui 4096 Sep 15 21:25 .
drwx------ 3 hui hui 4096 Sep 15 21:25 ..


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 Size of bases

<INFO> size of vola.1 :     27033608 bytes
<INFO> size of glob.1 :    140902408 bytes

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 Copying results


<A>_COPYFILE       no such file or directory: fort.80

copying .../fort.8...                                                   [  OK  ]
copying .../fort.6...                                                   [  OK  ]

<F>_ABNORMAL_ABORT Code_Aster run ended


 
 ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                            cpu     system    cpu+sys    elapsed
 ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
   Preparation of environment              0.01       0.00       0.01       0.00
   Copying datas                           0.06       0.02       0.08       0.09
   Code_Aster run                         13.83       3.70      17.53      13.49
   Copying results                         0.01       0.02       0.03       0.02
 ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
   Total                                  14.03       3.81      17.84      13.80
 ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

as_run 2019.0

------------------------------------------------------------
--- DIAGNOSTIC JOB : <F>_ABNORMAL_ABORT
------------------------------------------------------------


EXIT_CODE=4

Last edited by chenghui62000 (2020-09-15 20:25:04)


Attachments:
mess_desktop.log, Size: 137.96 KiB, Downloads: 24

Offline

#3 2020-09-22 17:41:47

dbpatankar
Member
From: Roorkee, Uttarakhand, India
Registered: 2010-05-22
Posts: 196

Re: [solved]Run same case on two computers, but one raises EXIT_CODE = 139

Did you check stderr log?

Offline

#4 2020-09-25 11:46:23

chenghui62000
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2018-06-19
Posts: 108

Re: [solved]Run same case on two computers, but one raises EXIT_CODE = 139

Hi Digvijay Patankar,
How to check Stderr log?

Offline

#5 2020-09-25 21:34:06

dbpatankar
Member
From: Roorkee, Uttarakhand, India
Registered: 2010-05-22
Posts: 196

Re: [solved]Run same case on two computers, but one raises EXIT_CODE = 139

chenghui62000 wrote:

Hi Digvijay Patankar,
How to check Stderr log?

If you are using CA from Salome_Meca then the error log will be in

<filename>_Files/RunCase_X/Result-Stage_Y/logs

If you are using CA from command line then the log files will be in

flasheur 

directory.

For each execution, CA creates 3 log files, 1) output log 2) exit log 3) error log.

Offline

#6 2020-09-26 14:08:09

chenghui62000
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2018-06-19
Posts: 108

Re: [solved]Run same case on two computers, but one raises EXIT_CODE = 139

Hi Digvijay Patankar,
I use using CA from command, as follows:

/opt/aster144/bin/as_run asterinput/ASTERRUN.EXPORT

but there is nothing in the "flasheur" folder.

Offline

#7 2020-09-26 17:06:17

mf
Member
Registered: 2019-06-18
Posts: 117

Re: [solved]Run same case on two computers, but one raises EXIT_CODE = 139

Hello,

the manual method in Linux should work too: when you launch your calculation you append '2> ~/error.log' to your as_run command. So it will look like this:

/opt/aster144/bin/as_run asterinput/ASTERRUN.EXPORT 2> ~/error.log

It reroutes the output of stderr into a file 'error.log' in your home directory.

This should work, of course you can write the file in whatever directory you want, it is not restricted to your home directory.

You can test this with whatever command will produce an error, for example a 'file not found' error:

ls xyz* 2> ~/error.log

then take a look at the file with

cat ~/error.log

Voila, the error is written to this file

Mario.

Last edited by mf (2020-09-26 21:49:36)

Offline

#8 2020-09-26 17:18:03

dbpatankar
Member
From: Roorkee, Uttarakhand, India
Registered: 2010-05-22
Posts: 196

Re: [solved]Run same case on two computers, but one raises EXIT_CODE = 139

chenghui62000 wrote:

Hi Digvijay Patankar,
I use using CA from command, as follows:

/opt/aster144/bin/as_run asterinput/ASTERRUN.EXPORT

but there is nothing in the "flasheur" folder.

the folder is usually located in your home directory.

Offline

#9 2020-09-27 17:19:53

chenghui62000
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2018-06-19
Posts: 108

Re: [solved]Run same case on two computers, but one raises EXIT_CODE = 139

Hi Mario and Digvijay,
Now I try to run the simulation by using the command as:

/opt/aster144/bin/as_run asterinput/ASTERRUN.export 2> ~/flasheur/error.log

Therefore, I see there is a file "error.log' in my ~/flasheur folder.

There are some error messages in the log file, I have no idea how to fix this problem.

See the first error message:

....

SHELL=/bin/bash
TERM=xterm-256color
XDG_SEAT_PATH=/org/freedesktop/DisplayManager/Seat0
IM_CONFIG_PHASE=2
XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP=X-Cinnamon
GPG_AGENT_INFO=/run/user/1000/gnupg/S.gpg-agent:0:1
GIO_LAUNCHED_DESKTOP_FILE=/usr/share/applications/code.desktop
SHLVL=4
XDG_SEAT=seat0
LANGUAGE=en_US
PYTHONPATH=/opt/aster144/lib/python3.6/site-packages
VSCODE_GIT_IPC_HANDLE=/run/user/1000/vscode-git-9ee6cccddf.sock
LC_TELEPHONE=nb_NO.UTF-8
GDMSESSION=cinnamon
GNOME_DESKTOP_SESSION_ID=this-is-deprecated
LOGNAME=hui
DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS=unix:path=/run/user/1000/bus
GIT_ASKPASS=/usr/share/code/resources/app/extensions/git/dist/askpass.sh
XDG_RUNTIME_DIR=/run/user/1000
XAUTHORITY=/home/hui/.Xauthority
XDG_SESSION_PATH=/org/freedesktop/DisplayManager/Session0
XDG_CONFIG_DIRS=/etc/xdg/xdg-cinnamon:/etc/xdg
PATH=/opt/aster144/bin:/opt/aster144/outils:/home/hui/.local/bin:/home/hui/.local/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/games:/usr/local/games:/snap/bin
LC_IDENTIFICATION=nb_NO.UTF-8
CINNAMON_VERSION=4.4.8
GJS_DEBUG_TOPICS=JS ERROR;JS LOG
SESSION_MANAGER=local/UiSDesktop:@/tmp/.ICE-unix/1311,unix/UiSDesktop:/tmp/.ICE-unix/1311
LESSOPEN=| /usr/bin/lesspipe %s
...

The whole error log file is also attached here.
Thank you for helping me with this question.

Hui

Last edited by chenghui62000 (2020-09-27 19:03:10)


Attachments:
error.log, Size: 119.43 KiB, Downloads: 11

Offline

#10 2020-09-27 21:29:38

chenghui62000
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2018-06-19
Posts: 108

Re: [solved]Run same case on two computers, but one raises EXIT_CODE = 139

Here is the error log file from the laptop in which Code_Aster14.4 is installed in Windows Subsystem Linux (WSL). CPU: i7-8750H; Memory: 16GB
On the laptop(CA in WSL), the simulation can be finished as usual without any errors.


Attachments:
error_laptop.log, Size: 29.01 KiB, Downloads: 10

Offline

#11 2020-09-28 08:55:46

mf
Member
Registered: 2019-06-18
Posts: 117

Re: [solved]Run same case on two computers, but one raises EXIT_CODE = 139

Hello,

unfortunately, stderr isn't much more informative than the standard output of CA.

I am sorry, I do not know the reason for your error. It could be related to your installation (OS and or CA) or your hardware. In this case I would try a total reinstall (OS and CA). In fact it is somehow quite similar to this error (albeit MPI version of CA), I am working on again these days (no solution yet): h ttps://code-aster.org/forum2/viewtopic.php?id=25021

But the following I noticed in your files, it might not be related but:
you use ncpus = 10 on a 6-core CPU. From my experience, CA likes hyperthreading turned off and when using the sequential version of CA (or CA with SMECA) ncpus = number of cores/2. That would mean ncpus = 3 in your case. Don't know if it helps,

Mario.

EDIT: it is advisable to not use any fancy but poorly maintained Linux distros. Stick with the big ones, preferably with long support (Ubuntu LTS,....).

Last edited by mf (2020-09-28 10:15:29)

Offline

#12 2020-09-30 11:00:45

chenghui62000
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2018-06-19
Posts: 108

Re: [solved]Run same case on two computers, but one raises EXIT_CODE = 139

Hi Mario,
I have tried to install the code aster on a completely new Linux Ubuntu 18.04LTS. And tried to run the simulations. Again, I met the same issue:

Mémoire (Mo) :   429.60 /   424.58 /    44.30 /    35.26 (VmPeak / VmSize / Optimum / Minimum)
---------------------------------------------------------------------

 Instant de calcul:  1.000000000000e-02
---------------------------------------------------------------------
|     NEWTON     |     RESIDU     |     RESIDU     |     OPTION     |
|    ITERATION   |     RELATIF    |     ABSOLU     |   ASSEMBLAGE   |
|                | RESI_GLOB_RELA | RESI_GLOB_MAXI |                |
---------------------------------------------------------------------
|     0        X | 2.35442E-01  X | 2.58620E+00    |TANGENTE        |
|     1        X | 3.25784E+00  X | 3.25784E+01    |TANGENTE        |
|     2        X | 1.38077E+00  X | 1.38077E+01    |TANGENTE        |
Segmentation fault (core dumped)
EXECUTION_CODE_ASTER_EXIT_31044=139
<INFO> Code_Aster run ended, diagnostic : <F>_ABNORMAL_ABORT

<E>_CORE_FILE      Code_Aster run created a coredump

<INFO> core file name : core

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 Coredump analysis

coredump analysis...                                                    [  OK  ]
[New LWP 31105]
[New LWP 31104]
[New LWP 31111]
[New LWP 31112]
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libthread_db.so.1".
Core was generated by `/home/magnus/Code_Aster/14.4/bin/aster /home/magnus/Code_Aster/14.4/lib/aster/E'.
Program terminated with signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
#0  0x0000559d2d1240ee in blas_thread_server ()
[Current thread is 1 (Thread 0x7f88a5294700 (LWP 31105))]
#0  0x0000559d2d1240ee in blas_thread_server ()
#1  0x00007f88a7f9b6db in start_thread (arg=0x7f88a5294700) at pthread_create.c:463
#2  0x00007f88a5c48a3f in clone () at ../sysdeps/unix/sysv/linux/x86_64/clone.S:95


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 Content of /tmp/hui-UiS-interactif_562 after execution

.:
total 252576
drwx------  3 magnus magnus      4096 sep.  30 11:09 .
drwxrwxrwt 21 root   root        4096 sep.  30 11:09 ..
-rw-r--r--  1 magnus magnus      1389 sep.  30 11:09 31044.export
-rw-r--r--  1 magnus magnus      2931 sep.  30 11:09 config.txt
-rw-------  1 magnus magnus 236412928 sep.  30 11:09 core
-rw-r--r--  1 magnus magnus        11 sep.  30 11:09 dbg_cmdfile
-rw-r--r--  1 magnus magnus      4643 sep.  30 11:09 fort.1
-rw-r--r--  1 magnus magnus      4643 sep.  30 11:09 fort.1.1
-rw-r--r--  1 magnus magnus         0 sep.  30 11:09 fort.15
-rw-r--r--  1 magnus magnus    707837 sep.  30 11:09 fort.20
-rw-r--r--  1 magnus magnus     89079 sep.  30 11:09 fort.6
-rw-r--r--  1 magnus magnus         0 sep.  30 11:09 fort.8
-rw-r--r--  1 magnus magnus         0 sep.  30 11:09 fort.9
-rw-r--r--  1 magnus magnus     61734 sep.  30 11:09 fort.90
-rw-r--r--  1 magnus magnus      5644 sep.  30 11:09 fort.91
-rw-r--r--  1 magnus magnus   2457608 sep.  30 11:09 glob.1
drwxr-xr-x  2 magnus magnus      4096 sep.  30 11:09 REPE_OUT
-rw-r--r--  1 magnus magnus  19660808 sep.  30 11:09 vola.1

REPE_OUT:
total 8
drwxr-xr-x 2 magnus magnus 4096 sep.  30 11:09 .
drwx------ 3 magnus magnus 4096 sep.  30 11:09 ..


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 Size of bases

<INFO> size of vola.1 :     19660808 bytes
<INFO> size of glob.1 :      2457608 bytes

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 Copying results


<A>_COPYFILE       no such file or directory: fort.80


<A>_COPYFILE       no such file or directory: fort.10

copying .../fort.6...                                                   [  OK  ]

<F>_ABNORMAL_ABORT Code_Aster run ended


 
 ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                            cpu     system    cpu+sys    elapsed
 ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
   Preparation of environment              0.00       0.00       0.00       0.00
   Copying datas                           0.10       0.05       0.15       0.14
   Code_Aster run                          3.22       1.09       4.31       3.62
   Coredump analysis                       0.54       0.16       0.70       0.68
   Copying results                         0.00       0.02       0.02       0.02
 ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
   Total                                   3.94       1.46       5.40       4.70
 ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

as_run 2019.0

------------------------------------------------------------
--- DIAGNOSTIC JOB : <F>_ABNORMAL_ABORT
------------------------------------------------------------


EXIT_CODE=4

Attachments:
error_UBUNTU18.04LTS.log, Size: 123.68 KiB, Downloads: 7

Offline

#13 2020-09-30 11:10:05

chenghui62000
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2018-06-19
Posts: 108

Re: [solved]Run same case on two computers, but one raises EXIT_CODE = 139

HI, I make a case for testing in the attachment.

If you install CA in "/opt/aster144", then just run the "run.sh" in terminal. Otherwise, change you should change Line8 in run.sh and Line2 in asterinput/ASTERRUN.export to the path of your CA.

I wish it will not have any core dump on your computer.

Hui


Attachments:
prepare_coredumpissue.tar.gz, Size: 125.18 KiB, Downloads: 7

Offline

#14 2020-09-30 16:31:40

mf
Member
Registered: 2019-06-18
Posts: 117

Re: [solved]Run same case on two computers, but one raises EXIT_CODE = 139

Hello,

I modified your run.sh and ran it. I must say, I do this with a well working installation of Salome Meca 2019.

I attach the output of CA. Essentially, it runs. So there might be something wrong with your installation. I had to interrupt with CTRL-C because your simulation cut the timestep and I didn't want to wait 'forever' so it shows ERROR=4 in the end (so in that sense it is not a true CA .mess file :-) ).

I call CA inside the SMECA installation with

/home/mario/salome_meca/appli_V2019.0.3_universal/salome shell -- as_run  the-export-file

if that helps.

I also attach the error.log you might want to compare it with yours (hint: 'meld' comes in handy for this in Ubuntu),

Mario.

EDIT: sorry, I just now looked at your output more carefully. BLAS is complaining in your output.

Last edited by mf (2020-09-30 16:35:24)


Attachments:
OUTPUT of CA and error.log.zip, Size: 45.07 KiB, Downloads: 8

Offline

#15 2020-09-30 20:53:47

chenghui62000
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2018-06-19
Posts: 108

Re: [solved]Run same case on two computers, but one raises EXIT_CODE = 139

Hi Mario,

When I use the salome shell to run the simulations. Then everything works fine.
I guest it is something wrong about the BLAS on my computer.

Thank you again, this is the first time I know that the aster can run within salome shell enviroment

Hui Cheng

Offline

#16 2020-09-30 21:08:53

mf
Member
Registered: 2019-06-18
Posts: 117

Re: [solved]Run same case on two computers, but one raises EXIT_CODE = 139

Hi,

you're welcome, this is what this forum is about. Personally, I'd wish that more people would contribute. Every error we make gets us further,

Mario.

Offline

#17 2020-10-11 22:44:40

chenghui62000
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2018-06-19
Posts: 108

Re: [solved]Run same case on two computers, but one raises EXIT_CODE = 139

Hi again
I have reinstalled the OS and CA many times on my desktop computer. And tried to modify the simulation cases. but it still shows the EXIT=139 error.

I proved that the EXIT=139 is not from my own python module. You can see the last case did not import any python module.

Here I share the initial files for my last tried case, could anyone give some advice?

Thank you in advance.
Hui Cheng


Attachments:
squareCage.tar.gz, Size: 102.83 KiB, Downloads: 3

Offline

#18 2020-10-12 20:02:03

sb1966
Member
Registered: 2015-03-16
Posts: 178

Re: [solved]Run same case on two computers, but one raises EXIT_CODE = 139

When I use the salome shell to run the simulations. Then everything works fine.
I guest it is something wrong about the BLAS on my computer.

Hi, I am not sure where your problem really lies. But, I think,  you may try to install CA after installing

 libblas-dev, libopenblas-dev, libopenblas-base

Hope this helps.

Sukumar

Offline

#19 2020-10-13 21:45:05

chenghui62000
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2018-06-19
Posts: 108

Re: [solved]Run same case on two computers, but one raises EXIT_CODE = 139

Hi Sukumar
I have already installed and reinstalled all these "blas" on my computer. Unfortunately,  EXIT=139 is still existing.
In addition, I tried my previous cases (without any self-made python module) using the latest CA14.4, The EXIT=139 error jumps out from time to time.
Thus, I think there must be some imperfections with the latest CA14.4.

Hui Cheng

Offline

#20 2020-10-14 00:04:58

chenghui62000
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2018-06-19
Posts: 108

Re: [solved]Run same case on two computers, but one raises EXIT_CODE = 139

I have tested the simulations with CA14.2, all the above simulations work very well. Thus, I degrade my CA to 14.2 to solve this problem.

Thank all for replying my questions.
Best regards,
Hui Cheng

Offline