Welcome to the forums. Please post in English or French.

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-10-01 22:23:57

marcelo
Member
Registered: 2017-06-20
Posts: 67

[SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

Hi,

I am running a nonlinear simulation using code_aster and unfortunately it does not give the results but also does not show the error that led to such.

.mess file: paste.ubuntu.com/p/XKfCR4fgZM/

Does anyone know what can it be?

Last edited by marcelo (2019-10-05 18:45:46)


Attachments:
code_error.jpg, Size: 136.3 KiB, Downloads: 82

Offline

#2 2019-10-03 11:57:26

marcelo
Member
Registered: 2017-06-20
Posts: 67

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

Does anyone know what might have happened?

Offline

#3 2019-10-03 12:58:57

GXA_William
Member
Registered: 2016-04-30
Posts: 44

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

Greetings Marcelo.

To assist requires more information; can you attach both the COMM and MED files?

For what its worth, I have encountered a similar result, meaning the study seems to run fine and gives no errors but yet there are no results and AsterStudy run status shows RED.  However, upon investigation it became quickly obvious that the error was "user" (that is, me) and not software. 

Once I made the necessary corrections the study ran without issue and produced results.

Kind regards,

-William

Offline

#4 2019-10-03 13:10:47

marcelo
Member
Registered: 2017-06-20
Posts: 67

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

GXA_William wrote:

To assist requires more information; can you attach both the COMM and MED files?
-William

Hi William,

Thanks for your reply.

Of course I can attach the .comm and .med files.
I would be very grateful for your help.

Best,
Marcelo

.comm:

DEBUT(LANG='EN')

mesh = LIRE_MAILLAGE(FORMAT='MED',
                     UNITE=20)

model = AFFE_MODELE(AFFE=_F(MODELISATION=('3D', ),
                            PHENOMENE='MECANIQUE',
                            TOUT='OUI'),
                    MAILLAGE=mesh)

CS = DEFI_MATERIAU(ECRO_LINE=_F(D_SIGM_EPSI=0.0,
                                SY=300.0),
                   ELAS=_F(E=210000.0,
                           NU=0.3,
                           RHO=7.8e-09))

fieldmat = AFFE_MATERIAU(AFFE=_F(MATER=(CS, ),
                                 TOUT='OUI'),
                         MAILLAGE=mesh)

Load1 = DEFI_FONCTION(NOM_PARA='INST',
                      VALE=(0.0, 0.0, 1.0, 1.0, 1.1, 1.0, 2.1, 0.0))

step1 = DEFI_LIST_REEL(DEBUT=0.0,
                       INTERVALLE=_F(JUSQU_A=2.1,
                                     PAS=0.1))

step = DEFI_LIST_INST(DEFI_LIST=_F(LIST_INST=step1),
                      METHODE='MANUEL')

Fix = AFFE_CHAR_MECA(DDL_IMPO=_F(DX=0.0,
                                 DY=0.0,
                                 DZ=0.0,
                                 GROUP_MA=('Fix', )),
                     MODELE=model)

Load = AFFE_CHAR_MECA(FORCE_FACE=_F(FZ=-2.0,
                                    GROUP_MA=('Load', )),
                      MODELE=model)

reslin = MECA_STATIQUE(CHAM_MATER=fieldmat,
                       EXCIT=(_F(CHARGE=Fix),
                              _F(CHARGE=Load)),
                       MODELE=model)

resnonl = STAT_NON_LINE(CHAM_MATER=fieldmat,
                        COMPORTEMENT=_F(DEFORMATION='SIMO_MIEHE',
                                        RELATION='VMIS_ISOT_LINE',
                                        TOUT='OUI'),
                        CONVERGENCE=_F(ITER_GLOB_MAXI=10),
                        EXCIT=(_F(CHARGE=Fix),
                               _F(CHARGE=Load,
                                  FONC_MULT=Load1)),
                        INCREMENT=_F(LIST_INST=step),
                        MODELE=model,
                        NEWTON=_F(MATRICE='TANGENTE',
                                  REAC_INCR=1,
                                  REAC_ITER=1))

reslin = CALC_CHAMP(reuse=reslin,
                    CONTRAINTE=('SIGM_ELNO', 'SIGM_NOEU'),
                    CRITERES=('SIEQ_ELNO', 'SIEQ_NOEU'),
                    FORCE=('REAC_NODA', ),
                    RESULTAT=reslin)

resnonl = CALC_CHAMP(reuse=resnonl,
                     CONTRAINTE=('SIGM_ELNO', 'SIGM_NOEU'),
                     CRITERES=('SIEQ_ELNO', 'SIEQ_NOEU'),
                     FORCE=('REAC_NODA', ),
                     RESULTAT=resnonl)

IMPR_RESU(FORMAT='MED',
          RESU=_F(RESULTAT=reslin),
          UNITE=80)

IMPR_RESU(FORMAT='MED',
          RESU=_F(RESULTAT=resnonl),
          UNITE=2)

FIN()

Attachments:
mesh.med, Size: 1.11 MiB, Downloads: 33

Offline

#5 2019-10-03 14:32:26

jeanpierreaubry
Guru
From: nantes (france)
Registered: 2009-03-12
Posts: 3,622

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

hello

please read the message file
THIS SHOULD BE DONE EVERY TIME AN ERROR OCCUR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
what is happening is clearly depicted in it
try to correct it
or come back with a more precise question

IT IS TIME TO HELP YOURSELF BY YOURSELF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

jean pierre aubry


consider reading my book
freely available here https://framabook.org/beginning-with-code_aster/

Offline

#6 2019-10-03 15:06:50

GXA_William
Member
Registered: 2016-04-30
Posts: 44

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

Hello Marcelo.

Of course Jean Pierre Aubry is right - you will learn more through self-help than if the answer is simply given.

I ran your case and mesh without issue and with two result files produced.

See attached image.

-William


Attachments:
Selection_001.png, Size: 39.14 KiB, Downloads: 57

Offline

#7 2019-10-03 15:20:18

marcelo
Member
Registered: 2017-06-20
Posts: 67

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

Hi,

I read the .mess file, and...

!-----------------------------------------------------------------!
   ! <I> <CATAMESS_89>                                               !
   !                                                                 !
   !  List of warnings emitted during the execution of computation.  !
   !                                                                 !
   !  Warnings which you chose to ignore of are preceded by (*).     !
   !  Number of occurrences for each warning:                        !
   !            no warning                                           !
   !-----------------------------------------------------------------!

I did not understand what to do.

Offline

#8 2019-10-03 15:31:43

jeanpierreaubry
Guru
From: nantes (france)
Registered: 2009-03-12
Posts: 3,622

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

the problem raises an error with code_aster 14.2 stand alone
this error can easily rectified
but this may be just a question of parameter ignored by AsterStudy
i do not know

please post the complete message file
there be some sort of warning which you missed out

Last edited by jeanpierreaubry (2019-10-03 15:35:30)


consider reading my book
freely available here https://framabook.org/beginning-with-code_aster/

Offline

#9 2019-10-03 17:39:24

marcelo
Member
Registered: 2017-06-20
Posts: 67

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

jeanpierreaubry wrote:

please post the complete message file
there be some sort of warning which you missed out

The .mess file is not incomplete.
What I noticed is that the simulation stops after an Ubuntu notification that the /root directory is low on storage space.
Recently, one of the simulations I did, I created a 'temp' folder in the /home directory, so code_aster could use it. I don't understand why this ''error'' happened.

What could I do?

Offline

#10 2019-10-03 18:25:59

jeanpierreaubry
Guru
From: nantes (france)
Registered: 2009-03-12
Posts: 3,622

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

What could I do?

post the complete message file!!!!!!!!!!


consider reading my book
freely available here https://framabook.org/beginning-with-code_aster/

Offline

#11 2019-10-03 18:51:45

marcelo
Member
Registered: 2017-06-20
Posts: 67

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

jeanpierreaubry wrote:

post the complete message file!!!!!!!!!!

The .mess file is attached, and is complete.

Like I said, the error is happening for insufficient space (in \root diretory). I made some modifications based on what I read from forum posts, but I was unsuccessful. Error is still occurring.

V2018.0.1_public/tools/Code_aster_frontend-201801/etc/codeaster/asrun:

#-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# ----- local configuration
# message of the day
#motd : $ASTER_ETC/codeaster/motd

# root of temporary space for astk services
rep_tmp : $ASTER_TMPDIR

# "Aster" platform
# (one of SOLARIS, SOLARIS64, TRU64, IRIX, P_LINUX)
plate-forme : Linux64

# Temporary directory for Aster executions
rep_trav : $HOME/salome_meca/tmp

# Temporary directory for Aster executions shared by all processors
# (used by mpi executions). For example : /export/tmp, /home/tmp...
shared_tmp : $ASTER_TMPDIR

# shared folders = for which remote copy is never necessary (comma separated)
shared_folders :

# choose True to create symbolic links instead of copying executable and catalogs
symlink : True

# text editor
editor : /usr/bin/gedit

# terminal for interactive calculation following output
#    @E will be remplaced by the commande line
terminal : /usr/bin/xterm -e @E

.comm:

IMPR_RESU(FORMAT='MED',
          RESU=_F(INFO_MAILLAGE='OUI',
                  RESULTAT=reslin),
          UNITE=80)

IMPR_RESU(FORMAT='MED',
          RESU=_F(INFO_MAILLAGE='OUI',
                  RESULTAT=resnonl),
          UNITE=2)

FIN(INFO_RESU='NON',
    RETASSAGE='NON')

Last edited by marcelo (2019-10-03 18:52:09)


Attachments:
message, Size: 80.96 KiB, Downloads: 32

Offline

#12 2019-10-03 22:04:38

AsterO'dactyle
Administrator
Registered: 2007-11-29
Posts: 306

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

Hello,

No error in your message file

Did you check:
- you have rights to write the files where you save them
- no accent, space and other special in filenames and directories


Code_Asterの開発者

Offline

#13 2019-10-04 01:05:09

marcelo
Member
Registered: 2017-06-20
Posts: 67

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

AsterO'dactyle wrote:

Did you check:
- you have rights to write the files where you save them
- no accent, space and other special in filenames and directories

Yes, I did.
I believe it is lack of space, because before the simulation stops, Ubuntu warns about the lack of space in the /root directory.
I don't know what to do to get around this.

Offline

#14 2019-10-04 02:56:44

GXA_William
Member
Registered: 2016-04-30
Posts: 44

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

Hello Marcelo.

This is a stretch and  admittedly simplistic, but have you tried shutting down the PC (so that the TMP folder is emptied) and re-strarting?

-William

Offline

#15 2019-10-04 07:23:07

jeanpierreaubry
Guru
From: nantes (france)
Registered: 2009-03-12
Posts: 3,622

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

I believe it is lack of space, because before the simulation stops, Ubuntu warns about the lack of space in the /root directory.
I don't know what to do to get around this.

you can get information by running df in a terminal
and if it is true the trouble is not a code_aster one
and is easy to solve
make free space!!


consider reading my book
freely available here https://framabook.org/beginning-with-code_aster/

Offline

#16 2019-10-04 11:58:37

marcelo
Member
Registered: 2017-06-20
Posts: 67

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

GXA_William wrote:

Hello Marcelo.

This is a stretch and  admittedly simplistic, but have you tried shutting down the PC (so that the TMP folder is emptied) and re-strarting?

-William

Yes,
I used the autoremove, autoclean and clean commands to clean the system and also cleared the browser browsing history. I was able to make the simulation happen. I have attached the .mess file.

However, I have about 2GB of free space in the /root directory which tells me that I will have problems in the future with this same space issue.

What I noticed is that in the course of the simulation about 1.6Gb of files are generated in the /tmp folder inside the /root directory, which is strange since I asked code_aster to use a folder that I intended for him in the /home directory.

# Temporary directory for Aster executions
rep_trav : $HOME/salome_meca/tmp

With that, is the question... what are these 1.6Gb?! Is there a possibility to change the creation of these files to the /home directory?

# root of temporary space for astk services
rep_tmp : $ASTER_TMPDIR

Maybe?

Last edited by marcelo (2019-10-04 11:59:29)


Attachments:
message, Size: 80.96 KiB, Downloads: 28

Offline

#17 2019-10-04 13:18:29

jeanpierreaubry
Guru
From: nantes (france)
Registered: 2009-03-12
Posts: 3,622

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

I used the autoremove, autoclean and clean commands to clean the system and also cleared the browser browsing history.

i do not understand these commands what are they supposed to do

1- are you running salome-meca as root on your system ???
this is really calling for trouble and should NEVER be done

2-you should look for a repertory called flasheur that should be in $HOME
if a normal user run is made
if you are running salome-meca as root it may be in /root directory

this flasheur directory holds all the results of any previous calculation made successful or not
clean it with caution if it is in /root

and never run a software as root unless you really know what you are doing

all this explained in my book take time to have a look at it


consider reading my book
freely available here https://framabook.org/beginning-with-code_aster/

Offline

#18 2019-10-04 14:07:47

marcelo
Member
Registered: 2017-06-20
Posts: 67

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

jeanpierreaubry wrote:

i do not understand these commands what are they supposed to do

These are the commands to remove unnecessary files from the system (sudo apt autoremove & sudo apt autoclean & sudo apt clean).

jeanpierreaubry wrote:

1- are you running salome-meca as root on your system ???
this is really calling for trouble and should NEVER be done

No, I'm not. I am referring to the directory called /root.

jeanpierreaubry wrote:

2-you should look for a repertory called flasheur that should be in $HOME

Yes, the mentioned folder is in the $ HOME directory.

jeanpierreaubry wrote:

if a normal user run is made
if you are running salome-meca as root it may be in /root directory

and never run a software as root unless you really know what you are doing

No, I'm not.

Offline

#19 2019-10-04 14:35:58

jeanpierreaubry
Guru
From: nantes (france)
Registered: 2009-03-12
Posts: 3,622

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

and what is the size of flasheur ?
how many files in it ?

and another question what do you call /root
in a normal linux install a regular user cannot open /root folder
but i do not know ubuntu


consider reading my book
freely available here https://framabook.org/beginning-with-code_aster/

Offline

#20 2019-10-04 15:02:52

marcelo
Member
Registered: 2017-06-20
Posts: 67

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

jeanpierreaubry wrote:

and what is the size of flasheur ?
how many files in it ?

Now... there is no file.

jeanpierreaubry wrote:

and another question what do you call /root
in a normal linux install a regular user cannot open /root folder
but i do not know ubuntu

Yes, unable to access the /root directory.
I am referring to the root directory (/). I have attached an image of my df (pay attention to /dev/sda2). In this directory is located the /tmp folder that apparently code_aster is using and causing me to have problems.
My goal now is to understand and know if it is possible to move these generated files in the /tmp folder inside the root directory to a /tmp folder elsewhere ($HOME).


Attachments:
df.jpeg, Size: 208.33 KiB, Downloads: 22

Offline

#21 2019-10-04 15:22:13

jeanpierreaubry
Guru
From: nantes (france)
Registered: 2009-03-12
Posts: 3,622

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

my opensuse system is set so that /tmp is never automatically cleaned up
i do that by hand when needed so i know what i am deleting

if /tmp is in sda2 you obsiously have to clean it up

My goal now is to understand and know if it is possible to move these generated files in the /tmp folder inside the root directory to a /tmp folder elsewhere ($HOME).

what for????????????
with code_aster stand alone this is possible i do not know about salome-meca
cleaning /tmp should be enough


consider reading my book
freely available here https://framabook.org/beginning-with-code_aster/

Offline

#22 2019-10-04 16:49:31

praful
Member
From: Chengdu, China
Registered: 2016-01-07
Posts: 47

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

i ran your file. Your linear analysis is running. when I run a non linear part, may be due to long processing time as i fixed the time limit P time_limit 1500.0, it stopped with cpu limit warning.
Valeur du temps CPU maximum passé aux commandes =   1350 secondes
  Réserve CPU prévue = 150 secondes

Total 1500 sec
I want to ask, how can i save the intermediate result. as in most of the non-linear analysis, it is difficult to converge completely


Attachments:
Marcelo.mess, Size: 52.15 KiB, Downloads: 26

Prafulla Malla

Offline

#23 2019-10-04 17:19:14

marcelo
Member
Registered: 2017-06-20
Posts: 67

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

jeanpierreaubry wrote:

what for????????????
with code_aster stand alone this is possible i do not know about salome-meca
cleaning /tmp should be enough

Because I'm afraid that this error will happen again. There is only 2 Gbs of free space.

I still want to understand which files were generated in the root directory and where is this setting so I can try to avoid future problems.

Offline

#24 2019-10-05 06:40:10

jeanpierreaubry
Guru
From: nantes (france)
Registered: 2009-03-12
Posts: 3,622

Re: [SOLVED] Simulation without result and without error

rep_trav
contains all the file produced in the study including the base
it is specified in /$HOME/.astkrc/prefs like this
rep_trav :/some_dir
i do not how in salome_meca

in /tmp there are a  few intermediate files automatically deleted this usually is not very large and has never been a source of trouble for me
(i have run studies of more than 24 hours with a base of well over 30 GB)
the directory of the problem is not deleted but is almost empty at the end of the study
i do not know how to redirect in another dir than /tmp
and i think this is of no importance

/tmp contains a lot of useless files other than the code_aster ones

in /$HOME/flasheur
you have some file including message ones
this directory is never cleaned up by code_aster you have to do it by hand

it is easy so scrutinize in the above dirs what is going on when the problem is running and you will see that almost nothing appears in /tmp and a lot in /rep_trav
by the way the studies you submitted here are of rather modest size


all this and quite a few other hints is in my book


consider reading my book
freely available here https://framabook.org/beginning-with-code_aster/

Offline