Welcome to the forums. Please post in English or French.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-03-28 10:49:01

bashseb
Member
From: Autriche
Registered: 2012-03-28
Posts: 33
Website

[SOLVED] "No Nodes in MED mesh" (gmsh post-processor)

Bonjour,
I currently need to output the .pos files of code_aster, because gmsh failes to read the .rmed files. This could be a problem of gmsh, but maybe I set something wrong in my IMPR_RESU section. I'm using gmsh 2.5.0, code aster 10.6.

This is the gmsh error:

Info    : Reading 'hex-two-cubes-load-temp-steps.rmed'...
Info    : Reading MED file V3.0.4 using MED library V2.3.6
Info    : Reading 3-D unstructured mesh <<MAIL>>
Error   : No nodes in MED mesh
Error   : Error loading 'hex-two-cubes-load-temp-steps.rmed'
Info    : Done reading 'hex-two-cubes-load-temp-steps.rmed'
Info    : Writing 'hex-two-cubes-load-temp-steps.txt'...

This is a simple example of two cubes attached to each other and meshed with a hexahedra mesh. They are heated to 100 deg and 16 alternating load steps are applied (pressure on one face).

I attached the comm file, nevertheless this is the IMPR_RESU section

IMPR_RESU(MODELE=MODE,
          FORMAT='MED',
          UNITE=80,
          RESU=(_F(RESULTAT=RESU,
                   NOM_CHAM='DEPL',
                   ),
                ));

Any help is greatly appreciated, merci!
Sebastian

Last edited by bashseb (2012-03-29 08:31:51)


Attachments:
hex-two-cubes-load-temp-steps.comm, Size: 4.61 KiB, Downloads: 347

Offline

#2 2012-03-28 11:08:04

jeanpierreaubry
Guru
From: nantes (france)
Registered: 2009-03-12
Posts: 3,930

Re: [SOLVED] "No Nodes in MED mesh" (gmsh post-processor)

hello

if you install the latest version of Gmsh 2.5.1
you should be able to read med 3 file without any problem

jean pierre aubry


consider reading my book
freely available here https://framabook.org/beginning-with-code_aster/

Offline

#3 2012-03-28 14:25:48

bashseb
Member
From: Autriche
Registered: 2012-03-28
Posts: 33
Website

Re: [SOLVED] "No Nodes in MED mesh" (gmsh post-processor)

sorry jean pierre,

This doesn't solve the problem. I'm getting the same error as before

Info    : -------------------------------------------------------
Info    : Gmsh version   : 2.5.1
Info    : Build OS       : Linux
Info    : Build options  : Ann Bamg Bfgs Blas Blossom Chaco DIntegration Dlopen FlTree Fltk GMP Gmm Have64BitSizeT Jpeg Kbipack Lapack MathEx Med Mesh Metis Mmg3d Mpeg NativeFileChooser Netgen OneLab OpenCascade OpenGL Parser Plugins Png Post RTree Salome Solver Tetgen(1.5) Voro3D Zlib
Info    : Build date     : 20120328
Info    : Build host     : arch64-kai
Info    : Packager       : seb
Info    : Home directory : /home/seb/
Info    : Launch date    : Wed Mar 28 15:21:25 2012
Info    : Command line   : /opt/bin/gmsh /home/seb/phd/src/aster/initial_tests/gmsh-to-med/lin-st-fromSal-Coarser.mmed
Info    : -------------------------------------------------------
Info    : Reading '/home/seb/phd/src/aster/initial_tests/gmsh-to-med/lin-st-fromSal-Coarser.mmed'...
Info    : Reading MED file V3.0.3 using MED library V2.3.6
Info    : Reading 3-D unstructured mesh <<threeD>>
Error   : No nodes in MED mesh
Error   : Error loading '/home/seb/phd/src/aster/initial_tests/gmsh-to-med/lin-st-fromSal-Coarser.mmed'
Info    : Done reading '/home/seb/phd/src/aster/initial_tests/gmsh-to-med/lin-st-fromSal-Coarser.mmed'

I can open med files written by gmsh, but I cannot even open mmed or rmed files comming directly out of salome-meca (using the linear elastic default study).

Offline

#4 2012-03-28 14:37:12

bashseb
Member
From: Autriche
Registered: 2012-03-28
Posts: 33
Website

Re: [SOLVED] "No Nodes in MED mesh" (gmsh post-processor)

laurent wrote:

A while ago, i noticed that Aster 10.6 uses Med 3 mesh format, not Med 2.
That's why Gmsh 2.5 doesn't work
The reference to Gmsh 2.5.1 is a reference to the development version of Gmsh, downloadable by clicking on the Gmsh-nightly-build link

Thanks for your reply. I tried with gmsh 2.5.1 (see last post), but it failed with the same error. I'm using svn version and compiled gmsh.

Offline

#5 2012-03-28 14:41:42

laurent
Member
Registered: 2007-11-22
Posts: 232

Re: [SOLVED] "No Nodes in MED mesh" (gmsh post-processor)

bashseb wrote:
laurent wrote:

A while ago, i noticed that Aster 10.6 uses Med 3 mesh format, not Med 2.
That's why Gmsh 2.5 doesn't work
The reference to Gmsh 2.5.1 is a reference to the development version of Gmsh, downloadable by clicking on the Gmsh-nightly-build link

Thanks for your reply. I tried with gmsh 2.5.1 (see last post), but it failed with the same error. I'm using svn version and compiled gmsh.

and you are so fast you replied before i could delete my (now) useless post. lol.

Offline

#6 2012-03-28 15:06:18

Thomas DE SOZA
Guru
From: EDF
Registered: 2007-11-23
Posts: 3,066

Re: [SOLVED] "No Nodes in MED mesh" (gmsh post-processor)

Hi,

Info    : -------------------------------------------------------
Info    : Gmsh version   : 2.5.1
Info    : Build OS       : Linux
Info    : Build options  : Ann Bamg Bfgs Blas Blossom Chaco DIntegration Dlopen FlTree Fltk GMP Gmm Have64BitSizeT Jpeg Kbipack Lapack MathEx Med Mesh Metis Mmg3d Mpeg NativeFileChooser Netgen OneLab OpenCascade OpenGL Parser Plugins Png Post RTree Salome Solver Tetgen(1.5) Voro3D Zlib
Info    : Build date     : 20120328
Info    : Build host     : arch64-kai
Info    : Packager       : seb
Info    : Home directory : /home/seb/
Info    : Launch date    : Wed Mar 28 15:21:25 2012
Info    : Command line   : /opt/bin/gmsh /home/seb/phd/src/aster/initial_tests/gmsh-to-med/lin-st-fromSal-Coarser.mmed
Info    : -------------------------------------------------------
Info    : Reading '/home/seb/phd/src/aster/initial_tests/gmsh-to-med/lin-st-fromSal-Coarser.mmed'...
Info    : Reading MED file V3.0.3 using MED library V2.3.6

Your compiled version is not OK (it uses MED-2.3.6 hence the problem). You should download a nightly or build against MED-3.0.4 (latest version available in the Code_Aster source package or on the Salomé website).

TdS

Offline

#7 2012-03-28 15:26:19

jeanpierreaubry
Guru
From: nantes (france)
Registered: 2009-03-12
Posts: 3,930

Re: [SOLVED] "No Nodes in MED mesh" (gmsh post-processor)

the practical version of Gmsh is the nightly build already compiled version
this line
automated nightly builds: Windows (build log), Linux (build log), Mac OS X (build log)
on here
http://geuz.org/gmsh/
you just unpack the archive somewhere and it works out of the box

compliling it from source implies what you really know what you are doing
and it looks like you have already enough troubles without adding the one of compiling Gmsh from source


consider reading my book
freely available here https://framabook.org/beginning-with-code_aster/

Offline

#8 2012-03-28 16:29:17

bashseb
Member
From: Autriche
Registered: 2012-03-28
Posts: 33
Website

Re: [SOLVED] "No Nodes in MED mesh" (gmsh post-processor)

great - that fixed it. Merci bien!!!

For others:

To run the gmsh nightly build on x86_64 bit environment, just do the following:

1. upack nightly build
2. check for missing shared libraries "not found"

 ldd bin/gmsh

3. install lib32 packages of your distro corresponding to the missing libs. e.g. in archlinux:

sudo pacman -S lib32-libxinerama lib32-mesa lib32-nvidia-utils lib32-libxext lib32-glibc ....

4. run gmsh

Last edited by bashseb (2012-03-29 08:28:11)

Offline

#9 2012-05-21 04:48:42

humbert
Member
From: Seoul
Registered: 2007-11-26
Posts: 81
Website

Re: [SOLVED] "No Nodes in MED mesh" (gmsh post-processor)

Note that the last version of gmsh as found in Ubuntu Precise Pangolin (12.04) and later or Debian testing/sid is compiled against MED 3.0.3, so no need for a nightly build anymore.

Offline