Welcome to the forums. Please post in English or French.

You are not logged in.

#1 2022-03-29 21:10:59

jacob
Member
From: Dolní Benešov
Registered: 2022-03-07
Posts: 48

select body/surface in paravis

Hello,
lets say I have done static study on an assembly. How do I show results only on some parts or surfaces?
(I mean automatically, not manually selecting cells and then extract selection. It is not possible on something complex)

Thanks

Offline

#2 2022-03-29 21:35:18

Irvise
Member
Registered: 2019-12-07
Posts: 94

Re: select body/surface in paravis

Hi Jacob,

Code_Aster allows you to do post processing of the generated results on specific areas. Most (if not all) post-processing commands have a GROUP_MA or GROUP_NO to restrict the post processing of whatever you want to that group.

If you are talking about ParaVis/Paraview, you can use the threshold filter. It allows you to get rid of parts of the results depending on your criteria. If you have groups in your mesh, those will be present in the results. In the threshold filter select the filter to be based on FamilyCell or FamilyNode and tweak it to leave only the part that you actually want.

Regards,
Fer

Offline

#3 2022-03-30 07:35:58

jonas loenartz
Member
Registered: 2021-10-01
Posts: 51

Re: select body/surface in paravis

Hello Jacob,

if you use Paravis for your post-processing you can also use the filter "extract groups", to isolate the values by mesh groups (GROUP_MA and GROUP_NO) you defined during the pre-processing. No need to choose cells in advance.

Jonas

Offline

#4 2022-03-30 08:34:05

jacob
Member
From: Dolní Benešov
Registered: 2022-03-07
Posts: 48

Re: select body/surface in paravis

Yes I tried that before I posted, but it does not show anything. I tried many models.


Attachments:
groups.jpg, Size: 123.6 KiB, Downloads: 75

Offline

#5 2022-03-30 13:39:35

jonas loenartz
Member
Registered: 2021-10-01
Posts: 51

Re: select body/surface in paravis

The filter has so far not failed me. But your property-browser looks kind of strange to me, as if you are not using the filter on the right object. It looks like your result file is "leaf_spring_contact_AS.rmed" but you use it on some other object in the pipeline browser. You have to select the object you want to apply the filter to in your pipeline browser, so that it has a blue background.

it would help, if you could share the .rmed file

Jonas

Last edited by jonas loenartz (2022-03-30 13:44:19)

Offline

#6 2022-03-30 19:45:13

jacob
Member
From: Dolní Benešov
Registered: 2022-03-07
Posts: 48

Re: select body/surface in paravis

hmm on volme it works, but not on the surfaces.
However I have to prepare everything before solving I guess?

Last edited by jacob (2022-03-30 19:47:06)


Attachments:
two_blocks.7z, Size: 1.64 MiB, Downloads: 60

Offline

#7 2022-03-30 20:35:19

konyaro
Member
From: Genève
Registered: 2016-04-02
Posts: 270

Re: select body/surface in paravis

Hello,
you can use the filter "Resample with dataset", refer to :
old.salome-platform.org/forum/forum_10/298627693#336367220

Konyaro


失敗は成功のもと (L'échec est la base de la réussite)

Offline

#8 2022-03-31 08:50:29

jonas loenartz
Member
Registered: 2021-10-01
Posts: 51

Re: select body/surface in paravis

jacob wrote:

hmm on volme it works, but not on the surfaces.
However I have to prepare everything before solving I guess?

Ok, I was not able to to extract a group of surface-elements in your result file. General it shoud be possible (as you can see in the attached screenshot, where I did it with one of my models.)

I'll have a look into your model later when I have time, in order to check if everything defined correctly in there

Jonas

Last edited by jonas loenartz (2022-03-31 08:50:54)


Attachments:
some_picture.png, Size: 70.46 KiB, Downloads: 70

Offline

#9 2022-04-02 13:09:22

jacob
Member
From: Dolní Benešov
Registered: 2022-03-07
Posts: 48

Re: select body/surface in paravis

I tried it on Salome Meca 2021 on Xubuntu but it behaves the same. Only volume works.

Offline

#10 2022-04-03 20:50:21

konyaro
Member
From: Genève
Registered: 2016-04-02
Posts: 270

Re: select body/surface in paravis

Ok, I was not able to to extract a group of surface-elements in your result file

This is explained in the Salome post I gave you above. Again, a workaround is to use the "Resample with dataset" filter.


失敗は成功のもと (L'échec est la base de la réussite)

Offline

#11 2022-04-03 22:19:12

jacob
Member
From: Dolní Benešov
Registered: 2022-03-07
Posts: 48

Re: select body/surface in paravis

I tried that but it also does not work.


Attachments:
image_2022-04-03_231906.png, Size: 68.67 KiB, Downloads: 57

Offline

#12 2022-04-04 06:53:50

konyaro
Member
From: Genève
Registered: 2016-04-02
Posts: 270

Re: select body/surface in paravis

You must apply the "Extract Group" on the mesh (MED), not on the rmed result, and then link the extracted group to your result with the "Resample with dataset".


失敗は成功のもと (L'échec est la base de la réussite)

Offline

#13 2022-04-04 07:03:57

jacob
Member
From: Dolní Benešov
Registered: 2022-03-07
Posts: 48

Re: select body/surface in paravis

Yeah I realized later. But thanks anyway.

Offline