Welcome to the forums. Please post in English or French.

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-11-13 10:19:01

danillocafaldo

Poroelastic material

Hello everyone,

I am new in the code_aster community and I am interested in performing vibroacoustics simulations, particularly aiming the acoustic response inside a closed cabin due to external excitation on the cabin walls. It is also of my particular interest to consider the acoustic absorption of poroelastic material inside the cabin, such as foams or fibers.

I could not find in the code_aster documentation such porous elements. I found one specific publication [1] in the literature, from 2017, affirming that code_aster at that moment did not have such feature implemented.

Anyone here with experience in such calculation would be able to tell me more about the availability and/or development of poroelastic materials on code_aster?

I appreciate your attention and support.

Danillo Cafaldo dos Reis

[1] GAROT M., et al, “Acoustic computation of a grommet in a small cabin using finite element analysis”, 23 ème Congrès Français de Mécanique, 2017

#2 2020-11-18 16:35:10

CLF
Website

Re: Poroelastic material

Hi Danillo

I cannot really answer your question as such.

There are soil material models that ought to work also for acoustics, though I have neither looked at, nor really tried them.

That said, CA executes in Python. So, you can mix and match.

This open source module runs in matlab.
github.com/JPPM-KTH/ARAMiS

If the built in material modes do not work, you can (probably, haven't tried this one either) either use these to generate matrix elements or drive Matlab from Python.

Aramis seems to compute absorption data. As it uses a transmission matrix method, I am guessing there might be meatier data that can be extracted from the code.

Hope this helps at least a little.

Sincerely
Claes

Last edited by CLF (2020-11-18 16:40:25)

#3 2020-11-25 11:03:17

danillocafaldo

Hello Claes,

thank you for your reply!