Welcome to the forums. Please post in English or French.

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-03-30 20:16:12

PATCH
Member
From: Brno, Czech Republic
Registered: 2017-01-03
Posts: 28

Deformed mesh

Hello,

I am working on a problem, where I need to use deformed mesh in other calculations. I need to load mesh and then make this loaded mesh as input mesh to next analysis.  This procedure works nicely when using linear material, but it creates wierd deformed shape when using nonlinear material (linear isotropic hardening). Problem is in place of boundary conditions. Do anybody knows how to solve this problem? I am enclosing ilustrative pictures and input files.

Regards,
Michal


Attachments:
mesh_export.zip, Size: 112.07 KiB, Downloads: 228

Offline

#2 2017-03-31 08:23:45

RichardS
Member
From: Munich, Germany
Registered: 2010-09-28
Posts: 559
Website

Re: Deformed mesh

Hi Michal,
the problem comes from the way how you extract the "displacements" in the plastic case:

DISPL=CREA_CHAMP(TYPE_CHAM='NOEU_DEPL_R',
                 OPERATION='EXTR',
                 RESULTAT=RESU,
                 NOM_CHAM='DEPL',
                 TYPE_MAXI='MAXI',
                 TYPE_RESU='INST',);

Which actually means you are exporting the field with the time steps where the displacement is at its maximum per node. This is of course not the displacement.

The correct could should be:

DISPL=CREA_CHAMP(TYPE_CHAM='NOEU_DEPL_R',
                 OPERATION='EXTR',
                 RESULTAT=RESU,
                 NOM_CHAM='DEPL',
                 INST=1.0,);

In contrast to the linear static analysis you now have to specify the time step at which you want to extract the displacements (in your case t_end=1.0) as this result has multiple time steps.

Best,
Richard

Last edited by RichardS (2017-03-31 08:26:11)


Richard Szoeke-Schuller
Product Management
www.simscale.com
We are hiring! https://www.simscale.com/jobs/

Offline

#3 2017-03-31 09:01:11

PATCH
Member
From: Brno, Czech Republic
Registered: 2017-01-03
Posts: 28

Re: Deformed mesh

Thank you very much. It worked.

Regards,
Michal

Offline